Home > MEMBERS > ADVICE & INFORMATION > Employee & Industrial Relations > Awards and Wages

Awards and Wages

Wine Industry Awards and Wages

Modern Awards together with 10 minimum National Employment Standards (NES) and the national minimum wage, the modern awards make up the minimum safety net for employees.  

For most employers operating predominantly in the wine industry, growing wine grapes or producing wine the Wine Industry Award 2010 applies.  For those employers that have diverse operations as part of their business other modern awards may well apply.

Employers must meet the terms and conditions of modern awards and the NES as a minimum obligation toward their employees. There are provisions which allow for enforcement and compliance with these obligations by the Fair Work Ombudsman. 

SAWIA provides information and advice on Modern Awards relevant to the wine industry. This includes:

  • wages and rates of pay; 
  • hours of work; penalty rates, overtime rates and allowances; 
  • classifications; and
  • award coverage. 

If a member requires assistance with any issue relating to the Wine Industry Award 2010 or what other modern awards may be applicable to their business operations please contact SAWIA.