12 licence categories become 8 - which is right for your business?

There are currently 12 different liquor licence categories available under the Liquor Licensing Act 1997. In the wine industry, the most commonly used licence categories are Producers, Special Circumstances, Direct Sales, Wholesale Liquor Merchants and Restaurants. Full details of current licence categories are available from Consumer and Business Services here.

As a result of the South Australian Parliament passing the Liquor Licensing (Liquor Review) Amendment Act 2017, from 1 November 2019 the following eight new liquor licence categories will be implemented:

  • General and Hotel
  • On Premises
  • Residential
  • Restaurant and Catering
  • Club
  • Small Venue
  • Packages Liquor Sales
  • Liquor Production and Sales